Who the hell are you?

If you are lucky enough to have stumbled on my blog and wonder who the hell I am and what this is all about, please take a moment to read this. 

In the American pop culture, Asians Americans (those born or grew up in the States) are often deemed as nerdy and book worms (especially Asian males). There are very few cool Asians in the media.

But to those living in Greater China (Mainland China, Hong Kong and Taiwan), the term ABC means American-born-Chinese. The very same people are actually often seen as the more prestigious and cooler ones than their cousins who never left the country. People would think all ABCs have rich parents and live in big houses. They are more fluent in English than anything else. They carry themselves in a “whiter” manner. They don’t get the look when they say they are “not Chinese”. People cut them slacks for doing drugs and sleeping around because they are “practically foreigners”.

I started this blog and called myself “half an ABC” because I feel pretty torn about who I am sometimes. On the paper, I’m not an ABC cuz I was born and raised in Hong Kong. My parents are super grass root who cant even speak any English. Anyhow, I went to the United States for college and immersed myself deeply into the culture by dating American guys, majoring in useless subjects that arent money making enough for other real Asians, obsessing with American history and politics, interning in Chicago and DC, watching Fox News and South Park and worshiping Bill O’Reilly.

There are so many things I love and hate about the East and West. To a Hong Konger, I am too American, but to an American, I am too Asian.

I need a place to rant and this is it. I need to warn you: I’m making lots of generalization in my writing. This is not going to be the most politically correct blog ever. If you hate what I say, just stop reading. If you send me hate message, I am just gonna ignore or delete them. My blog, my rule! 

Nikki

About Nicky

Nicky English is a journalist, an educator, a podcaster, a couch potato, a dreamer, and a child at heart. Learning is her passion, so is the English language, which she believes is the tool to unlock the door of knowledge. Born in Hong Kong, she received intensive writing training at The University of Iowa, where she double-majored in journalism and political science. Apart from the Hawkeye State, she’s lived in Chicago and Philadelphia. When she was a guest student at Georgetown University, she fell in love with Washington, D.C. She also has a Master of Arts in Communication. A little side note—she cannot imagine a world without her Mac and iDevices. Like many crazy ones, she hopes to change the world one day at a time.
This entry was posted in identity crisis, random things. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

