How Four Seasons Hotel Bangkok made me feel like a king (or queen? whatever)

It actually looked much nicer than this. I hate swimming but I swam twice there. There were so few people using it so I pretty much owned it. Queen of the Pool!!! (say it in a Game of Thrones manner please)

I have been telling people time and again, I’m very laid-back when it comes to quality of life. I had never been a high maintenance traveller and thought hotels aren’t worth the money because I would spend only 10 hours max per night in the room. But this time I was traveling with my generous aunt and uncle to Bangkok. Unlike me, they value quality hospitality and particularly wanted to stay at The Four Seasons because of the reputation. I was reluctant cuz I was too cheap and would rather spend the money on more mango sticky rice, but since I really needed their company and how my friend told me the Bangkok Four Seasons is the cheapest in the world, I finally gave in. Having stayed there for 3 nights, I completely understand why Four Seasons is Four Seasons and deserves the high praises worldwide.

On the first day we were greeted by a very friendly and attentive (oh did I tell you he looked cute too? Too bad he acted a little gay) officer at the front desk. He was interested in our trip and made suggestions to where to go and even told us the right time to check out without us having to ask. I was so used to shitty hotels which only cared if I had the money to pay for broken lamps, it instantly gave me an ego boost! We got a free upgrade to our room but I have to be frank we were a little disappointed at first cuz the room itself was not particularly big or luxuriously decorated. It looked exactly like the generic five-star one I had stayed at last year when I went to Guangzhou. But what made me appreciate the hotel most came later that night.

I called the reception to ask about the opening hours of the health club and the swimming pool cuz I felt like I had to use all the amenities to make my stay worth the high price! I was told they are closed already but if I wanted to use them they could open the faciities for me as long as I used them at my own risk. Since I really wanted to try the swimming pool after devouring some late night snacks from the street, I requested the lady to open it for me.

She called me back seconds later and said a pool side party had just finished and I might have to wait a while. I asked how long. She said just a couple mins but she didn’t want to keep me waiting. I was very pleased by how considerate she was. She made me feel like she really cared! Another two mins passed and she told me it was ready for me. I asked if the locker room was open so I could keep my key card there. She pleasantly said she could check again. I was like “Oh well, forget about it. I will just hide my key card in the bush…”

When I finally got to swim, the pool staff were cleaning up the area. After finishing a few laps I noticed they still managed to place two very nicely folded towels at my recliner! How nice!

There are many other nice things about Four Seasons Bangkok, but there is the one single incident that stood out and even all my friends dropped their jaws when they heard it.
I never write reviews for anything cuz I’m a lazy free rider who only takes and never contributes, but this experience left me so satisfied that I just had to share it. I finally understand what made a five-star hotel five-star is not the decoration, provided that there are plenty of gold plated hotels in china or macau (Yes, I’m talking about you Venetian Macao) , but the passion to make your stay enjoyable.

About Nicky

Nicky English is a journalist, an educator, a podcaster, a couch potato, a dreamer, and a child at heart. Learning is her passion, so is the English language, which she believes is the tool to unlock the door of knowledge. Born in Hong Kong, she received intensive writing training at The University of Iowa, where she double-majored in journalism and political science. Apart from the Hawkeye State, she’s lived in Chicago and Philadelphia. When she was a guest student at Georgetown University, she fell in love with Washington, D.C. She also has a Master of Arts in Communication. A little side note—she cannot imagine a world without her Mac and iDevices. Like many crazy ones, she hopes to change the world one day at a time.
This entry was posted in travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

