Annoying behavior on public transportation in rush hour

Those who know me in real life know that I just embarked on a new job this week. For the first time, I have to live the 9 to 7 (9 to 5 is a myth in Hong Kong offices) life. I used to work odd hours and never really had to endure the morning traffic. Now that I have to get up at 7:10 am every day to make it to the office before 9 am, I get to observe even more annoying behavior in the MTR (subway) when the trains are the most crowded. I really need to let it out now or else I may break down tomorrow and jump down onto the tracks when I see another selfish jerk.

Two behavior that drive me nuts:

1. Playing games / watching videos / listening to music on phones / PSP / iPads / I-don’t-care-what-the-hack-it-is without using earphones

I encounter people who do that all the time in public, not on buses or MTR alone but also in restaurants and on the street. Come on people, can you really be that inconsiderate? When you do that, you are literally saying, “I think I’m so cool, and I can do whatever I want. You should be honored that you get to hear what I’m playing for free.” Screw you! I would have listened to that stupid song if I wanted to listen to it!

The saddest thing that is that 99 percent of the time those are teenagers, housewives or creepy middle-aged dudes who do such things. What does it say about our society? Selfish parents are reinforcing their children’s selfishness! Call me a snob or whatever, every time it happens I only hear pop / hip-hop / rock / news from 蘋果動 (tabloid style online TV news in HK). I have never heard anyone play classical music on that kind of volume.

I am ashamed that I never took any concrete actions against this kind of behavior. I feel like I should be more outspoken and tell these people to just freaking cut it out. I usually stare at that person until he becomes self conscious and realizes my implied “F-U”. Once I had a woman in her fifties watching her stupid TVB show with full volume next to me at a restaurant. I tried to stare at her but she was completely absorbed. My remedy was to take  a photo of her and post it on facebook so all my friends can swear at her for me.

The selfish woman using the “MyTV” app on her iPhone. Look at how despicable she looks.

2. People reading their newspapers when other can’t even stand straight

There are at least 6 free newspapers in Hong Kong. They are usually distributed outside MTR stations to commuters in the morning rush hour. I understand those papers are printed in tabloid-size so that they could be easily be flipped through. But if you have ever witnessed how crowded an MTR train to Central can get in the morning (having-to-wait-five-trains-to-squeeze-into-one kind of crowded), you would understand why even reading on an iphone can be an impossible task.

This is not a refuge camp. This is an MTR platform. This happens every day in rush hour.

Inconsiderate a–holes usually stand in the center of the car and spread open their newspapers, but those who stand near the doors are packed like sardine because people on the platform will do anything just to get in. The unfortunate ones like me can’t even hold on to the handrails cuz we are completely surrounded by people, but it’s okay since we are literally leaning on each other, it is impossible to fall. What gets really embarrassing is that sometimes you are soooooo close to one another that you can’t even turn, so you may send the entire journey having your hip conjured to the crotch of the dude behind you! Eww! But who can you blame?

About Nicky

Nicky English is a journalist, an educator, a podcaster, a couch potato, a dreamer, and a child at heart. Learning is her passion, so is the English language, which she believes is the tool to unlock the door of knowledge. Born in Hong Kong, she received intensive writing training at The University of Iowa, where she double-majored in journalism and political science. Apart from the Hawkeye State, she’s lived in Chicago and Philadelphia. When she was a guest student at Georgetown University, she fell in love with Washington, D.C. She also has a Master of Arts in Communication. A little side note—she cannot imagine a world without her Mac and iDevices. Like many crazy ones, she hopes to change the world one day at a time.
This entry was posted in travel, TV & movies, work and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Annoying behavior on public transportation in rush hour

  1. Pingback: How I fell in love with a Mac | Half an ABC

  2. Pingback: I know you’re not that important, so put down that damn phone! | Half an ABC

Leave a Reply

