I hate (clueless) guys who claims they like natural beauties

I haven’t been blogging for long, and more than once (or twice) I have honestly admitted that I care about how I look. For a whole decade since I first learned how to apply foundation on my skin, an issue has been annoying the crap out of me — some Hong Kong guys are really clueless about girls with makeup.

I need to share this frustrating experience with a guy friend with you readers. I was having dinner with this friend, early 30s, obsessed with female celebrities and sexy models like a horny 15-year-old virgin, when he suddenly said to me in a knows-it-all manner, “You should stop wearing makeup. I can see the tiny bumps on your face.”

I wish I had smacked him in the head right there. I HATE it when guys criticize me for wearing makeup, as if they would like me better had I not wore any. I have only encountered situations like that in Hong Kong, and I have to give credits to American guys on that one. Hong Kong men don’t appreciate the nice gesture I was making by spending an hour to get ready every day. I don’t know why in HK we were educated to believe “girls who wear makeup” = “sluts” and “pretty girls” = “bad students”.

I was never allowed to even wear concealer for my acne when I had the worst breakout at age 15. It didn’t mean I never tried. I was constantly picked on by my teacher for disobeying the school rule, and one teacher even went as far as predicting I would never even be able to go college. What happened in the end? I graduated from a top tier university on the States with a 3.7 GPA and was a star student there with 3 scholarships and 2 internships. I performed even better in my master’s program with a 3.9 GPA. I wish I could see that teacher again and tell her to go to hell.

Anyway, let’s not get side-tracked. Generations of guys in HK have been brought up to believe that nice girls should be pure and innocent (an euphemism for virgin) and those girls should be “natural beauties” even without makeup. I have seen girls who look ok and decent with no makeup whatsoever, but I have never come across anyone who get out of bed every morning looking like Angelababy or Blake Lively.

Angelababy — This plastic looking model is claimed to be one of the most beautiful girls in Asia. Does she look natural to you? I don’t think so.

What makes me mad about guys like my friend is that they are such hypocrites or idiots (I dont know which one is worse). My friend on one hand says I would look more “pure” (exact wording) if I don’t wear make up (but he has never seen me that way at all. No idea how he drew that conclusion). On the other hand, he fantasizes about race-car models type celebrities in Hong Kong like Chrissie Chau who’s only talent is having big boobs and I can tell from a far her foundation is inch-thick and her face and body are most probably accentuated with plastic surgeries.

Chrissie Chau — Famous for being a bimbo. See my friend’s double standard?

I am a stubborn person, and if I am confident about my decision, I will stick to it. I like how I look right now. I wear enough makeup to bring out my eyes and hide my dark circles and blemishes, but I know when I look into the mirror, I still see myself, not a face drawn by cosmetics. Comments like those from my friend will only make me feel less incline to alter my daily routine.

Natural beauty my butt.

About Nicky

Nicky English is a journalist, an educator, a podcaster, a couch potato, a dreamer, and a child at heart. Learning is her passion, so is the English language, which she believes is the tool to unlock the door of knowledge. Born in Hong Kong, she received intensive writing training at The University of Iowa, where she double-majored in journalism and political science. Apart from the Hawkeye State, she’s lived in Chicago and Philadelphia. When she was a guest student at Georgetown University, she fell in love with Washington, D.C. She also has a Master of Arts in Communication. A little side note—she cannot imagine a world without her Mac and iDevices. Like many crazy ones, she hopes to change the world one day at a time.
This entry was posted in beauty & fashion, dating & relationship, health & exercise, identity crisis, school, TV & movies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I hate (clueless) guys who claims they like natural beauties

  1. Cynthia says:

    So true, guys always want their girlfriend to be natural but with beautiful face, but that is impossible.

  2. Jake Sauvage says:

    Uh, welcome to my life! I feel like a lot of girls say that to me “you don’t need to wear makeup”…well, I think I do. I have acneic skin, with a ton of redness. I’d rather slather on the makeup and feel confident than not. Also, I work in the beauty industry…I feel like it’s important for me to portray the industry accordingly, ahaha!

    Also, if you feel like you’re getting small bumps from your makeup, are you wearing a primer? You may also want to consider exfoliation, either chemical or physical, because those are signs that there’s deep seated congestion in those areas of the skin. I do a glycolic peel once a month to make sure there’s no congestion build-up in my skin. :3

  3. fancieland says:

    I know your frustration! Sadly to say, American guys do it too sometimes. Especially on other social media sites. Guys usually never know what they want or mean.

  4. thisisvincispeaking says:

    I totally understand how you feel. I hate it when guys have this whole idea of “makeup=fake” prefixed in their mind. The most ironic thing is that, more often than not, the guy who claims he prefer natural beauty always end up liking celebrities that are obviously made up with even more make up and other surgery enhancements.

Leave a Reply

