How I fell in love with a Mac

I just completed my first week at the new job (still employed, yay!! still smelling armpits every day in the MTR, Eww!!). I like the company and my boss okay, guess I’m still going through the honeymoon phase, we all know how that goes, right? But something really really bugs me, and it will always stay the same till the end of time — I need to switch back to the stupid PC!

I have been a happy, loyal Mac user for six wonderful years. I was still in the States when I got my Macbook. Since then I have also got my MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, iPod video, iPod touch, iPhone and the iPad. Unlike most people, I didnt become hooked on Apple because of the iPod. I know how it sounds when I say it, but I have to tell the truth. I DON’T LIKE MUSIC. I don’t hate music. I just think it’s a waste of time listening to music. Therefore, for the longest time I had been resisting the iPod and didn’t think it was all that cool.

My first encounter with a Mac came when I had to commute every day to downtown Philadelphia from my suburb home in my freshman year. I was sitting next to a guy one day when I noticed how much nicer the Mac Interface looked. I never really cared about computers back then. I was using an IBM Thinkpad with a floppy drive, man. That train ride didn’t drastically alter my perception until in my junior year when my ex (not the scumbag I wrote about last time) out of the blue got an iBook. Neither of us was really techno savvy but he couldn’t stop bragging about how easy it was to switch from a PC to a Mac and constantly showed me the cool stuff it could do. It’s among the many wonderful things I still thank him for (See, I don’t hate all my exes!)

I guess the biggest concern for most people who are on the fence about choosing between a Mac and a PC is the compatibility. I was still in college at that time. All I really needed was Microsoft Office. I found that our school (still loves it) sponsored students on essential software like MS Windows and Office. I could get the MS Office for Mac for just something around US$10! So when my IBM finally became unbearably slow (but it’s still operating even so many years have passed), I was happy to go into an Apple Store in Delaware and got my first MacBook, tax free!

I was a journalism major and really wanted to get into broadcast journalism after graduation. We all needed to learn how to edit our own news stories using Final Cut Pro, and our journalism schools had all the latest fancy iMacs in the classrooms and G5’s in the editing booths. Being familiar with how to use a Mac already really helped me to learn faster. The only ironic thing is when I eventually returned to HK and started looking for a reporting job, I was told that many stations in HK still used traditional editing methods!

I had a PC in the office for my first job. I was not happy with the machine, but I was still okay with it. I still complained about how stupid the PC was, but I sucked it up. My complete transition to the Mac happened during my second job. It was very much like freelancing in nature. Much of the time I had to work from home. I had to do a lot of desktop publishing and amateur graphic designing. At first I didn’t know I could use anything else other than MS Word, but when my colleague showed me how wonderful those templates of the iWork are and how easy it is to use, I just couldn’t go back to MS Word again… Until now!

(This post is getting a little wordy, stay tuned to find out how I’m struggling with a PC at work!)

About Nicky

Nicky English is a journalist, an educator, a podcaster, a couch potato, a dreamer, and a child at heart. Learning is her passion, so is the English language, which she believes is the tool to unlock the door of knowledge. Born in Hong Kong, she received intensive writing training at The University of Iowa, where she double-majored in journalism and political science. Apart from the Hawkeye State, she’s lived in Chicago and Philadelphia. When she was a guest student at Georgetown University, she fell in love with Washington, D.C. She also has a Master of Arts in Communication. A little side note—she cannot imagine a world without her Mac and iDevices. Like many crazy ones, she hopes to change the world one day at a time.
This entry was posted in Apple & gadgets, dating & relationship, school, shopping, TV & movies, work and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

