Who should play Christian Grey in the Fifty Shades of Grey movie?

Fifty Shades of Grey is huge. The book is a best seller in Hong Kong bookstores too even though the Chinese version isn’t out yet. I am only one-fourth into the book and can’t be more annoyed by the poor writing. I’m sick of the repetitive “inner goddess”, “Holy crap” and lip bitting references, but I can see the appeal of the book. Without the S&M and sex parts, it’s still a love story about a handsome, successful, rich and HOT guy falling for an average looking boring girl. Replace the S&M part with blood sucking then you have Twilight.

I heard a movie is in the making and several actors are in the running. I do have several suggestions. If you think I am sooo going to nominate Ryan Reynolds (Scarlet Jo’s super cute ex husband, hello?) or Paul Wesley (the subject of my every vampire fantasy!), but I’m sorry to disappoint. Christian Grey is a seductive man. Reynolds and Wesley, who I adore with all my heart and would say yes to anything they asked me, bondage or not, are just too much of the husband materials. I picture them in a bubble bath with rose petals, not in the “red room of pain”.

Candidate number 1: Ian Somerhalder

Image

Although I am NOT a fan of Somerhalder, and I dislike Damon on The Vampire Diaries (I’m team Stefan), Somerhalder is a perfect choice. He has such a bad boy vibe in him, and his baby blue eyes cannot be any less engaging than Grey’s. Grey is dangerous, wild, sexy, has extensive knowledge about S-E-X and someone who you just wanna jump into bed with. I know lots of girls who see that in him.

Candidate number 2: Chris Pine

Image

Another actor with dazzling blue eyes. I’m a sucker of blue eyes! Chris Pine looks less dangerous than Somerhalder, but I still regard him a very suitable choice. Grey is not just good looking. He is described as beautiful. Chris Pine has beautiful features that trigger a woman’s maternal instincts. Grey is also very polite and presentable when he is with strangers and outsiders. Pine will look great in a suit as the all-business Grey and be able to surprise audience when he reveals his inner demons.

Candidate number 3: Desmond Harrington 

Image

I actually considered Ed Westwick (Chuck Bass on Gossip Girl) before I decided to go with Uncle Jack. Granted, Westwick has an advantage because we are so used to watching him playing the young entrepreneur with internal struggles, but I just never found him attractive! What’s going on with the gap between his front teeth? Harrington also plays a Bass, but he looks a little more mature and a lot hotter. I understand most people got to know him as Quinn on Dexter, just don’t think of him as Quinn and forget about his poor wardrobe. He is Uncle Bass from Gossip Girl! The one who slept with Blair.

Candidate 4: Chris Evans

Image

Evans looks the most age appropriate to play Grey. I know Grey is supposed to be 27, but I think his age is best re-set at 28-29. A guy at 27 can be no more mature than a teenager. A guy at 29 is still young but has more life experience to impress the heroine. I wasn’t super taken by Evans in terms of hotness when I saw Captain America, but he in What’s Your Number is a much bigger turn-on.

Who should NOT play Christian Grey

1. Robert Pattinson: I cannot see past him being Edward Cullen. Enough said.

2. Chace Crawford: He is absolutely beautiful, but he looks too young and feminine.

3. Leonardo DiCaprio / Johnny Deep: Too old for such an innocent heroine. Fifty Shades is about S&M, not pedophilia

4. Justin Timberlake: I don’t think he can ever convince me as an Grey-type entrepreneur. Computer geek? Perhaps. A serious all-suited up multibillionaire? Not so much.

One more thing:

After witnessing the success despite the poor writing of Fifty Shades of Grey. I’ve decided to write a novel about a romantically frustrated, smart 26-year-old stuck at her 9-7 job and a handsome vampire with blue eyes. I bet I can outsell Fifty Shades because at least I know how to punctuate.

About Nicky

Nicky English is a journalist, an educator, a podcaster, a couch potato, a dreamer, and a child at heart. Learning is her passion, so is the English language, which she believes is the tool to unlock the door of knowledge. Born in Hong Kong, she received intensive writing training at The University of Iowa, where she double-majored in journalism and political science. Apart from the Hawkeye State, she’s lived in Chicago and Philadelphia. When she was a guest student at Georgetown University, she fell in love with Washington, D.C. She also has a Master of Arts in Communication. A little side note—she cannot imagine a world without her Mac and iDevices. Like many crazy ones, she hopes to change the world one day at a time.
This entry was posted in dating & relationship, random things, TV & movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Who should play Christian Grey in the Fifty Shades of Grey movie?

  1. kathleen says:

    ian somerhalder as christian-chris pine as elliott-desmond harrington as ethan and chris evans as jose.

  2. Ahaha, a really good post! Love it. Uncle Bass is just andghadhsdbnamdnasasj <3333

    P.S. What about Matt Bomer?

    xo,

    Mademoiselle S.

    http://www.mademoiselle-s-blog.com/

    • Nicky says:

      Matt Bomer is also super hot! it a shame he is gay in real life. Im fine with him being gay, but it ruined the fantasy for me 😦

Leave a Reply

