Feeling sad wrapping up a book

I hope my fellow writers can tell me if it’s normal to feel sad after you’ve finished writing the best book of your life.

As my novel enters the formatting phase and will be on the shelves VERY soon, I can’t help but feel so happy and sad at the same time. I feel like I’m picking little things here and there to change so that I can still hold on to it, but at the same time I also want to be able to share with everyone what a wonderful book I’ve written.

I don’t know what I’m gonna do when I don’t have a story to write anymore. Florid Eyes was my therapist and got me through so many lonely nights when I felt like the world was crushing down on me. I channeled all my remaining positive energy into the book. When I was feeling depressed and losing it, I made Violet stronger. I wanted her to have everything that I never had/don’t get to have yet. I wanted her to have dreams, to always have hope, to have faith in life, to have the man who loves her unconditionally and appreciates every bit of her. I gave her wit, wisdom, and flaws. I gave her an ending that signifies nothing but true, healthy, genuine love.

Now that her story is done, I don’t know how I can channel my energy anymore. Is that why people write sequels? I think I’ve given my best in this book. My creativity is drained. Nothing that I write can ever be as good. How do other writers cops with that?

About Nicky

Nicky English is a journalist, an educator, a podcaster, a couch potato, a dreamer, and a child at heart. Learning is her passion, so is the English language, which she believes is the tool to unlock the door of knowledge. Born in Hong Kong, she received intensive writing training at The University of Iowa, where she double-majored in journalism and political science. Apart from the Hawkeye State, she’s lived in Chicago and Philadelphia. When she was a guest student at Georgetown University, she fell in love with Washington, D.C. She also has a Master of Arts in Communication. A little side note—she cannot imagine a world without her Mac and iDevices. Like many crazy ones, she hopes to change the world one day at a time.
This entry was posted in Florid Eyes: A Novel, identity crisis, work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

