Found potential PhD supervisors

Slide1

I haven’t been updating my readers much on my crusade for a PhD. The thing is, not much has happened other then waiting. I emailed two top schools in Australia my masterpiece proposal #cough# two weeks ago. I’ve been fully aware that my lack of research experience is my Achille’s heel, so I know that my proposal has to be impeccable to land a supervisor because they’re very particular about research.

I spent countless hours (not many as I spent on writing Florid Eyes but still…) reading academic journal articles and Googling things I had no clue of. Like many things I’ve embarked on, I had no idea how to start. I literally had to Google How to write a PhD proposal. I begged my professor who graduated from UNC, my friend who is graduating this year from Oxford with a PhD in Economics, and my MIT visiting professor friend in computer science to comment on my proposal on communication studies. Even if it isn’t the best thing ever happen to academia since Stephen Hawking, it has to be at least semi-decent, not something that an academic would just throw away after reading two lines, right?

As I was waiting, I gave myself a pep talk. If no professor is willing to take me, it only means that my research interest doesn’t fit into theirs, it doesn’t mean I’m not good enough to be a PhD student. I know what I’m good enough. I’ve been told by my own professors that I’m very capable.

After two weeks of waiting and hearing nothing from one of the schools. I emailed the person I had been in contact with. Guess what, he didn’t receive my proposal! I wasted two weeks waiting for nothing! I’ve learned my lessons. In dealing with schools, you really have to be ready to check and verify with them. I emailed him again a few days ago and was told to wait for another week or so.

On the other hand, the other school has identified THREE potential supervisors for me! I’m over the moon! I was afraid I couldn’t even get one. Now three legitimate, not imaginary, academics have shown interest in my proposal! I still need to get in touch with each one of them and make sure we have the same research interest before any one of them can officially take me on as a potential student and for me to officially apply. It’s just a baby step I know, but I always like to magnify every positive sign and submerge myself in happiness until something shitty happens.

Maybe getting a PhD can be a reality, not just a dream!

About Nicky

Nicky English is a journalist, an educator, a podcaster, a couch potato, a dreamer, and a child at heart. Learning is her passion, so is the English language, which she believes is the tool to unlock the door of knowledge. Born in Hong Kong, she received intensive writing training at The University of Iowa, where she double-majored in journalism and political science. Apart from the Hawkeye State, she’s lived in Chicago and Philadelphia. When she was a guest student at Georgetown University, she fell in love with Washington, D.C. She also has a Master of Arts in Communication. A little side note—she cannot imagine a world without her Mac and iDevices. Like many crazy ones, she hopes to change the world one day at a time.
This entry was posted in motivation, school and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Found potential PhD supervisors

  1. Pingback: I’ve grown so numb to rejections | Half an ABC: Nicky English's blog

  2. kannan says:

    hi
    i am also deeply looking for supervisor ..i got frustrated many times..still my hunting has not received any answer…pray for me…

    kannan

  3. Pingback: Never thought I could work this hard | Half an ABC: Nicky English's blog

  4. Pingback: My dream came true (part 1) | Half an ABC: Nicky English's blog

Leave a Reply

