Histrionic personality disorder

I was talking to a friend today about how impatient I’m as a viewer or reader. I didn’t read the Game of Thones books (A Song of Ice and Fire) but I read all the synopses online so last night’s brutal Red Wedding episode didn’t throw me off at all. I told my friend how I have zero patience for movies or new shows. I give every movie 10 minutes of my precious time. If it fails to grab my attention, I’ll just watch another. Sometime I can lose interest when I’m half way in, I’ll just stop watching and read the rest on Wikipedia. It’s very important that I get closure. There are shows I’ve given up on a long time ago, but I still read recaps of them from Entertainment Weekly. My friend said I’m like Sheldon from The Big Bang Theory who feels uncomfortable when closures are taken from him. I guess I am kinda like Sheldon in many ways (including the bird phobia!).

Anyway, my friend suggested I might have mild ADHD given my short attention span for entertainment, but I was skeptical because I do get very obsessed with things I love, to the point that I must finish the task before I do anything else. I don’t have problem paying attention to things that interest me. I can only focus on one thing at a time. I am not a multi-tasker at all. I Googled ADHD, and I am not convinced I have it.

One click led to another, I eventually stumbled upon a personality disorder quiz. I answered like 30 questions and apparently I scored very high on histrionic personality disorder and narcissistic personality disorder. I looked up another test to cross-check, and the result turned out to be the same! The narcissistic one didn’t surprise me because I was already aware of that, but I had never heard of histrionic personality disorder before. I finally get to have a new topic to spend hours Googling, yay!

So far I’ve only read a few articles about it on Psychology Today, which is just one of my favorite websites of all time. I also found the symptoms from Wikipedia. This time I think those quizzes really have hit something. Look at this list of traits:

  • Exhibitionist behavior – don’t think so
  • Constant seeking of reassurance or approval √ from people who I regard highly only
  • Excessive sensitivity to criticism or disapproval √ 
  • Pride of own personality and unwillingness to change, viewing any change as a threat √√√ If I didn’t love myself,  I wouldn’t have scored that high on narcissism either
  • Inappropriately seductive appearance or behavior of a sexual nature – you tell me
  • Using somatic symptoms (of physical illness) to garner attention – don’t think so
  • A need to be the center of attention √√√ I withdraw from groups where I can’t be the center of attention. That’s why I love teaching so much.
  • Low tolerance for frustration or delayed gratification √√√√√√√√√√√√√√√ here goes my zero patience
  • Rapidly shifting emotional states that may appear superficial or exaggerated to others
  • Tendency to believe that relationships are more intimate than they actually are √√√
  • Making rash decisions  – don’t think so, I’m not impetuous 
  • Blaming personal failures or disappointments on others – don’t think so, I usually blame myself first
  • Being easily influenced by others, especially those who treat them approvingly √ It really depends on who you are. I can be stubborn as a stone.
  • Being overly dramatic and emotional √ I don’t burst in tears in public, dont worry.

Call me a drama queen, but I really don’t see a problem with that, so call me a narcissist too. 🙂

About Nicky

Nicky English is a journalist, an educator, a podcaster, a couch potato, a dreamer, and a child at heart. Learning is her passion, so is the English language, which she believes is the tool to unlock the door of knowledge. Born in Hong Kong, she received intensive writing training at The University of Iowa, where she double-majored in journalism and political science. Apart from the Hawkeye State, she’s lived in Chicago and Philadelphia. When she was a guest student at Georgetown University, she fell in love with Washington, D.C. She also has a Master of Arts in Communication. A little side note—she cannot imagine a world without her Mac and iDevices. Like many crazy ones, she hopes to change the world one day at a time.
This entry was posted in identity crisis. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Histrionic personality disorder

  1. Hi there! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community
    in the same niche. Your blog provided us valuable information to
    work on. You have done a extraordinary job!

Leave a Reply

