I’m a hopeless romantic

I never felt for Klaus and Caroline until this moment.

I never felt for Klaus and Caroline until this moment.

Since I’ve written a vampire romance novel, it’s be a lie to say I’m not a romantic at heart. Even though I don’t talk about love and boys in every conversation like many girls. I do consider myself very much a hopeless romantic. You know where I fantasize about bumping into the love of my life? At a large bookstore (the kind with a Starbucks built-in)!

This is what’s gonna happen in my wildest dreams (totally PG 13):

~ ~ ~

I’m buried in something classic like The Age of Innocence at a remote section, and this cute nerd who looks bookishly handsome but is oblivious of his own attractiveness interrupts me by saying, “Excuse me madam, are you buying this book? This is the only copy.”

It just so happens he’s seen the movie too! We’d then strike a conversation about all the books and movies that we love and how we both think George RR Martin is a better storyteller than a writer. After standing there chatting for like 20 mins, I have to excuse myself because of a prior arrangement. We say good bye to each other. I secretly feel a bit sad because he didn’t ask for my facebook or anything. I give him the sweetest smile before I turn around. As I walk away in disappointment, I very much wanna turn around to steal a final look from him, but I wouldn’t because I don’t wanna come across as too desperate or anything. Plus, I’ve read enough He’s Just Not That into You to know it by heart if a guy’s interested, he would make it known. If he doesn’t pursue you, that means he’s just not that into you! Just as I step outside the bookstore thinking it’s just another round of my over-romanticizing things, I hear footsteps closing in on me.

There he is, stopping me awkwardly. “Hey, madam, I didn’t get your name. If you don’t mind . . .”

After I tell him my name, he rubs his head and squeezes the words. It looks even cuter when he’s acting all tongue-tied. “I hope it’s not too awkward . . . Would you like to grab a coffee with me? If’ you don’t, it’s . . .”

I’d cut him short with my “of course” in delight.

~ ~ ~

The rest is just standard rom-com. 🙂

See, that’s what a woman fantasizes about. I’ve been daydreaming about this encounter for years, but never once had anyone approached me in a bookstore. Neither had I approached anyone. I’ve struck conversations with guys at the gym and Starbucks but never bookstores. Bookstores are so quiet, and everyone seems to be in this leave-me-alone mode, so I think the chances of this dream coming true are pretty, pretty slim.

Anyway, being cynical about love seems to be default mentality for women living in big cities. Dismissing love seems to be the cool thing to say, like “Who watches TV anymore?” However, I still love TV and the idea of love. I’ve all these romantic, cheesy pick-up lines and dialogues saved up. If I can’t use them in real life, I’ll make good use of them in the sequel of Florid Eyes, tentatively titled Dripping Heart. 

About Nicky

Nicky English is a journalist, an educator, a podcaster, a couch potato, a dreamer, and a child at heart. Learning is her passion, so is the English language, which she believes is the tool to unlock the door of knowledge. Born in Hong Kong, she received intensive writing training at The University of Iowa, where she double-majored in journalism and political science. Apart from the Hawkeye State, she’s lived in Chicago and Philadelphia. When she was a guest student at Georgetown University, she fell in love with Washington, D.C. She also has a Master of Arts in Communication. A little side note—she cannot imagine a world without her Mac and iDevices. Like many crazy ones, she hopes to change the world one day at a time.
This entry was posted in dating & relationship, Florid Eyes: A Novel, identity crisis and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

