Standing at the crossroads

People say karma is a bitch. There was a time when I wondered what I had done wrong to deserve all those misfortunes and ill treatments. Life threw disappointment after disappointment at me. Though discouraged, though many tears were shed, I reminded myself my day would come. In the meantime, I should just stop beating myself up for what couldn’t be changed, so I persevered and focused on what made me happy, namely writing and teaching.

Until a month ago, I was this struggling but very content freelancer who have completely given up on looking for a so-called real job. The only confusing part was not know how to explain to people what I actually do. I’ve completely accepted that fact that corporate world wasn’t for me and  I’d spend the rest of my life living in poverty. I was completely okay with being poor actually because for some very strange reason, I got invited to nice dinners and lunches all the time. My quality of life was actually very high for the little money that I made. The only time I wished I had made more was when I felt like there would be no way for me to fund my PhD. 

All of a sudden, I got several unrelated calls that opened up doors for me. Now I’m given this chance to relocate from Hong Kong. Should I be happy? Did God finally realize he has made a huge mistake screwing  over a good person like me? Or is it too good to be true? 

About Nicky

Nicky English is a journalist, an educator, a podcaster, a couch potato, a dreamer, and a child at heart. Learning is her passion, so is the English language, which she believes is the tool to unlock the door of knowledge. Born in Hong Kong, she received intensive writing training at The University of Iowa, where she double-majored in journalism and political science. Apart from the Hawkeye State, she’s lived in Chicago and Philadelphia. When she was a guest student at Georgetown University, she fell in love with Washington, D.C. She also has a Master of Arts in Communication. A little side note—she cannot imagine a world without her Mac and iDevices. Like many crazy ones, she hopes to change the world one day at a time.
This entry was posted in identity crisis, motivation, work, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

