On regrets

I have been thinking a lot of regrets lately. Through my adult life, I have been fortunate enough to say that there aren’t that many things I find “regrettable”. I’ve been pretty confident about my life choices. Perhaps I’m just to proud to care for my mistakes, but there are definitely a few things that I’ve always wondered if I would’ve done differently if I had been given a second chance.

Knowing how things have turned out eventually, of course it is easy to say I’d have chosen the opposite if I had had the chance to turn back time.

However, a recent epiphany taught me I really shouldn’t doubt my judgement. Even though things didn’t turn out the way what I wanted, at least I was the one making my own decisions. Even if I’m no Christian, I believe in freewill, and that’s  what makes human beings so unique. In fact, every decision is a rational decision given the circumstances and limited information that we have. As long as we are allowed to make our own decision, even if things go down, at least we have ourselves to blame. Being able to point fingers at ourselves caters to the basic human needs for closure, and closures help us move forward.

Another overlooked fact is the presumed guaranteed success with the forgone choice(s). The truth is, even if we had chosen the opposite, we could have still failed. Knowing myself so well and how my mentality works, I am so sure I would feel 100 times worst if I didn’t listened to my own gut feeling. If I just listen to another person, I would not only blame him, I would blame myself for being so weak-minded to let other sway me, too.

My conclusion is, if you did do what you heart told you was right, if you did fight for what you wanted,  nothing is ever worth regretting, unless you didn’t think it though.

Before we jump into something, just be mentally prepared of the worst scenario. If you think you have what it takes to beat the odds, do it even if the chances are slim.

So what if the end result sucks? You can still get something out of it. This something will help you make better decisions next time.

About Nicky

Nicky English is a journalist, an educator, a podcaster, a couch potato, a dreamer, and a child at heart. Learning is her passion, so is the English language, which she believes is the tool to unlock the door of knowledge. Born in Hong Kong, she received intensive writing training at The University of Iowa, where she double-majored in journalism and political science. Apart from the Hawkeye State, she’s lived in Chicago and Philadelphia. When she was a guest student at Georgetown University, she fell in love with Washington, D.C. She also has a Master of Arts in Communication. A little side note—she cannot imagine a world without her Mac and iDevices. Like many crazy ones, she hopes to change the world one day at a time.
This entry was posted in identity crisis and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

