I’m in love with my boss (in a girl crush way)

I’ve noticed recently other than my PhD and my students, my boss has dominated a majority of the conversations I have with ANYONE. Interestingly enough, whereas most people complain about their bosses, talking about how unreasonable and incompetent they are, I’m completely smitten by her awesomeness. I have never seen woman so cool in real life. I have seen career women on TV who are driven, energetic and always get what they want, but people say nine out of 10 women bosses are bitchy and impossible to please. Hell yes! I do believe it because I’ve served one myself!

I can say it 100 times. My current boss is so competent, kind hearted, decisive, talented, funny, generous, experienced and in every way an opposite of the bitch boss who almost drove me to kill myself. I idolize her so much that I would worship the ground she walks on! (I know I totally sound like a kiss ass now, but I bet a million bucks she won’t read this blog, so I’m really writing for the sake of expressing my gratitude)

If I had known her when I was a little girl, I would have written in my school essay that I want to grow up being just like her, like what my students have done! I can talk for days about her greatness, but I’ll exercise my self-control and limit to 10 points on how she can kick my former bitch boss’ ass anyday.

Awesome Boss: Multilingual. She speaks English, Mandarin, Cantonese, Fujian, Malay, and possibly more. She is fluent in all! Her English is impeccable.

Bitch Boss: Average language proficiency. Nothing to write home about.

Awesome boss: Has real competence and is good at what she does.

Bitch boss: Got to her position by backstabbing and playing politics. Seriously, her job really isn’t challenging. What she does is really trivial and involves little decision making. Totally replaceable. 

Awesome boss: Judges people by their competence. Hired me because I have the skill set she needed. Didn’t even look at my resume.   

Bitch boss: Feels threatened by competent people. Changed six assistant managers in three years. No one had worked in that department for longer than a year when I was there.

Awesome boss: Trusts her subordinates. Gives orders and trusts that we’ll deliver the results.

Bitch boss: Needs to be included in everything. Needs to be copied in every email. Needs to know every step of everything.

Awesome boss: Minds her own business. Actually, doesn’t give a crap about matters like how you maintain your workstation.

Bitch boss: Needs to dictate everything, including how to position your keyboard and mouse.

Awesome boss: Enjoys her solitary time to get things done because she is important and is always on the go. 

Bitch boss: Desperate to be the Queen Bee even though she lacks the charm. Forces her subordinate to have lunch with her everyday and be her minions.

Awesome Boss: Doesn’t care what time you come in or leave as long as you get your job done.

Bitch boss: Can’t leave without her permission. Leaving on time is a sin. Two hours on top of your contractual time is barely appropriate. Since she doesn’t like go home, no one can go either.

Awesome Boss: Only asks for you when she needs something from you or has an order for you. Doesn’t care if you facebook your hours away at down time.

Bitch boss: You need to stop whatever you’re doing to listen to her gossiping about other departments when she needs an audience for her boring talk show.

Awesome Boss: Wears fun and colorful clothes. Confident about herself. Appreciates good fashion sense. (My pink eyeshadow and dangling pearl earrings) 

Bitch Boss: Dresses like she is going to a funeral every day. Hates it when other females look better than her. Constantly bitches about the nail colors or make up of younger women.

Awesome Boss: Knows what good English writing is. 

Bitch Boss: Can’t comprehend good English.

Awesome Boss: Doesn’t care what losers think of her. She does whatever she thinks is right. Doesn’t take shit from anyone but her own direct boss.

Bitch Boss: Super insecure and paranoid about people trying to replace her.

Awesome Boss: A role model in every way. Knows so much more than me about everything.

Bitch Boss: Can’t think of a thing more superior than me, at least in areas that I value. 

Awesome Boss: Senior Vice President of a listed MNC who has offices in three different counties. Has the power to create a headcount in a month right after the announcement of a restructure.

Bitch Boss: Manager of a four-person department of a local company with 500 employees. Hasn’t had a promotion in seven years. Took more than six months to add a headcount.

At this point you might be counting the number of points I have gone over. I’m gonna quote my awesome boss, “Do I care?” I don’t! She is the coolest person on earth and I will keep glorifying her until the last of my days!

About Nicky

Nicky English is a journalist, an educator, a podcaster, a couch potato, a dreamer, and a child at heart. Learning is her passion, so is the English language, which she believes is the tool to unlock the door of knowledge. Born in Hong Kong, she received intensive writing training at The University of Iowa, where she double-majored in journalism and political science. Apart from the Hawkeye State, she’s lived in Chicago and Philadelphia. When she was a guest student at Georgetown University, she fell in love with Washington, D.C. She also has a Master of Arts in Communication. A little side note—she cannot imagine a world without her Mac and iDevices. Like many crazy ones, she hopes to change the world one day at a time.
This entry was posted in work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

