I’m a TV shipper, and I’m not ashamed

To TV junkies like me, the word “ship” means the whole world. For every fantastic TV show, there is always a core couple I choose to “ship”. I pray for their happiness as if it is mine. Some shows are built in with love triangles (or octagons if you’ve watched Gossip Girl)  that aims to pull viewers from all directions in.

images

Two notable major ships are “Team Stefan” and “Team Damon” on my once favorite show The Vampire Diaries. Ships can be a blessing or a pain in the butt. From the view point of a fan, I love how these triangles pull my heartstrings, but I also hate triangles that never resolve. I hate how the writers will throw in something to separate my beloved couple every time they find happiness, which is why I gave up on TVD even though it pained me to not be able to drool while appreciating Stefan’s handsomeness every week.

A show that has handled its ships very well and deserves all the Emmys and critic acclaims it has won is The Big Bang Theory. The show has evolved from the will-they-won’t-they relationship between Leonard and Penny to so much more. For three season, the writers teased us with a possible relationship between the two. They gave us a short-lived relationship in Season 3 before breaking them up for the majority of Seasons 4 and 5. To keep us shippers from jumping ships, the writers made sure we knew they still had feelings for each other even though they each dated different people in between.

We patiently waited until Season 6 for Penny and Leonard to reconcile and develop a much healthier and less one-side relationship. This time around, the writers were clever enough to realize they didn’t have to rock the boat every five episodes or so to keep us interested and create unnecessary tension. Penny and Leonard could still carry strong story lines as a couple. The writers did the same with Sheldon and Amy, and Howard and Bernadette. These couple are made for each other, but funny and intriguing things can still arise through their interactions seven seasons in.

Lately I have become a fan of several new shows, like Reign and The Originals on the CW, and Dracula on NBC. Since the girl-caught-up-between-two-hot-brothers thing has been proven such a strong foundation for “mega hits” to the CW (anything with a 2.5 million+ rating is a mega hit on the CW), Reign and The Original are basically doing just that.

From the poster of Reign, we are promised a royal love triangle formed by the young Queen Mary of Scotts, Prince Francis of France, and his (fictional) bastard brother Sebastian. I wasn’t sure after four agonizing season of watching my baby Stefan having his heart broken by Elena over and over again on TVD, if I still wanted to involve myself in another love triangle of two brothers. (Yea, like I was actually involved lol)

Reign1

After the last episode in which a young, (rightfully) angry Queen Mary drunkenly kissed Bash. I gotta declare: I’m officially on the Mary/Bash ship! Screw Francis! He’s a prince, but he’s also a douche who doesn’t appreciate our beautiful, clever, kind, tough and full-of-life Mary enough! He isn’t worthy of her even if he is the to inherit the throne. Yea, yea, yea, I know Bash is the one who flirts with every one, but he is just a harmless flirt. He has always been there for Mary, doing things in the background so his brother could woo the girl he’ll never have because he’s not “legitimate”.

I love how he kept his affections for Mary to himself and just stared at Mary with his intense and beautiful eyes until she initiated the kiss, and I totally love him for saying, “You’re right. I shouldn’t have done that” and pulled Mary in for another! Bring on another triangle! I’m in!

About Nicky

Nicky English is a journalist, an educator, a podcaster, a couch potato, a dreamer, and a child at heart. Learning is her passion, so is the English language, which she believes is the tool to unlock the door of knowledge. Born in Hong Kong, she received intensive writing training at The University of Iowa, where she double-majored in journalism and political science. Apart from the Hawkeye State, she’s lived in Chicago and Philadelphia. When she was a guest student at Georgetown University, she fell in love with Washington, D.C. She also has a Master of Arts in Communication. A little side note—she cannot imagine a world without her Mac and iDevices. Like many crazy ones, she hopes to change the world one day at a time.
This entry was posted in dating & relationship, TV & movies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

