I’m a sucker for men who empower women

Yet be there when the women need a firm shoulder to lean on in between her breaks from saving the world.

At first, I wasn’t particularly charmed by Jonathan Rhys Meyers’ portrayal of Alexander Grayson, aka, Dracula under a fake identity as an AMERICAN businessman with an awkward accent, in NBC’s Dracula reboot. Contrary to popular opinion, I have always been more into guys with boyish looks like the actor who plays Jonathan Harker than the mysterious type.

achivy-20130718-23904-yerafq

I didn’t want to fall for the predictable Grayson/Mina ship because all signs point to the fact that they were lovers in their former lives. I also thought Harker and Mina had some sweet moments…UNTIL Harker told Mina he wanted her to give up her pursuit to be England’s first female surgeon or something unconventional by the late 19th Century standards like that. He thought marriage would turn her into a “proper English wife” with “more womanly pursuits”.

I know that scene was forced because Harker had never showed any signs of disapproval before, but I couldn’t help but scream WTF at my 13-inch MacBook Air. How dare him told a woman with the wits and smarts every bit comparable to her male peers to be a housewife! The feminist in me will not take that! Harker, I demand you to apologize to my homegirl Mina! (and he did)

It doesn’t help when Grayson tells Mina in this week’s episode he admires her for trying to breakaway from societal norms to become a doctor and he thinks there is no higher calling than the studies of medicine because she can save lives (something along this line).

Even though I’m not a doctor, nor do I ever wanna pursue medicine, I’m almost sold with that line. What I think every woman of her own mind wants to hear, is for her man to tell her he supports whatever she feels passionate about and he finds what she does worthwhile.

We also have this exceptionally slow motion scene in which Grayson shelters Mina from a blast that totally looks more like Disney fireworks in the background.

Cliche, isn’t it? I hate to say this, but this ship is starting to grow on me. I’m definitely tuning in again next week. What I feel this show lacks are fangs and bloodlust. Critics have been making fun of how this Dracula show has ridiculously turned the King of all Vampires into an environment friendly hippie who wants to take down oil companies with alternative energy. I kinda agree. I think the plot can function without the vampire element, which is a disappointment and a shame to vampire lovers like me.

About Nicky

Nicky English is a journalist, an educator, a podcaster, a couch potato, a dreamer, and a child at heart. Learning is her passion, so is the English language, which she believes is the tool to unlock the door of knowledge. Born in Hong Kong, she received intensive writing training at The University of Iowa, where she double-majored in journalism and political science. Apart from the Hawkeye State, she’s lived in Chicago and Philadelphia. When she was a guest student at Georgetown University, she fell in love with Washington, D.C. She also has a Master of Arts in Communication. A little side note—she cannot imagine a world without her Mac and iDevices. Like many crazy ones, she hopes to change the world one day at a time.
This entry was posted in dating & relationship, dream, Florid Eyes: A Novel, work and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

