Smart girls’ must-read: Lean In

Image

I’m only one chapter into Facebook COO Sheryl Sandberg’s biography Lean In, and I can already feel the feminist in me revelling in joy!

Damn right. More than 50 percent of bachelor degree and 60 percent of the master degree graduates are women. More and more of us are becoming highly trained and skilled across the career spectrum. Why are we still expected to accomplish just marriage and kids? Why is “ambition” such a negative word when it’s used on a woman? Why aren’t we expected to contribute and lead with our knowledge? Isn’t that too much of a waste if qualified women stay home and raise kids?

The most condescending thing I’ve ever heard is, “You shouldn’t get so much education. It will make you less marriageable. Go get a husband!”

Perhaps I’m “too smart” for my own good. I don’t think it will be a loss to society if I never get married or have kids. I could leave that task to other women, but I truly think it will be a loss if I become a soccer mom and not help change the world and push the human race forward with what I know.

I have always thought God played a joke on me for making me be born in the wrong country. I’m beginning to think I was born in the wong gender too.

I can’t wait to finish this book and be empowered to take charge and lean in and be the leader I aspire to be.

About Nicky

Nicky English is a journalist, an educator, a podcaster, a couch potato, a dreamer, and a child at heart. Learning is her passion, so is the English language, which she believes is the tool to unlock the door of knowledge. Born in Hong Kong, she received intensive writing training at The University of Iowa, where she double-majored in journalism and political science. Apart from the Hawkeye State, she’s lived in Chicago and Philadelphia. When she was a guest student at Georgetown University, she fell in love with Washington, D.C. She also has a Master of Arts in Communication. A little side note—she cannot imagine a world without her Mac and iDevices. Like many crazy ones, she hopes to change the world one day at a time.
This entry was posted in identity crisis, motivation, work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

