Inspirations for the sequel of Florid Eyes: A Novel

I had been asked by readers whether I would write a sequel to Florid Eyes: A Novel, and I did really very much want to write one. I felt that the love story between Violet and Josh represents a stage of my life. It is, of course, very important to me, so I don’t want to write a sequel just for the sake of having one. I’ve been completely consumed with work for the past six months and I hardly had any time for sleep or for my social life. It has been very hard, but it’s a price I’m willing to pay for pursuing my PhD dream.

The biggest problem in writing that I now face is not only the lack of time, but the lack of inspirations. Since I had little time outside of working and teaching, I couldn’t explore life and experience the stimulants I need. Florid Eyes: A Novel is basically my own manifesto. I need to have new messages and new philosophy to embed in the sequel.

Fortunately, I had the chance to go on a Christmas getaway in a tropical paradise. As a go getter who is always working towards a goal, I have always had this or that to accomplish and never enjoyed just chilling on a sun bed and listening to the waves. This year end vacation turns out to be exactly what I need– a time to take my mind off work or my PhD trouble and to submerge into the wonderful things that future may hold.

I know I won’t be able to start working on this sequel until after I have moved to a new city for my PhD sometime later in the year, but I sure do have a better idea of the direction I want to take.

I wrote a small scene when I was lying next to the pool under a clear sky with 31 stars (I actually took the time to count!). I hope to upload it later after some further polishing for my readers as a preview.

Enjoy reading!

About Nicky

Nicky English is a journalist, an educator, a podcaster, a couch potato, a dreamer, and a child at heart. Learning is her passion, so is the English language, which she believes is the tool to unlock the door of knowledge. Born in Hong Kong, she received intensive writing training at The University of Iowa, where she double-majored in journalism and political science. Apart from the Hawkeye State, she’s lived in Chicago and Philadelphia. When she was a guest student at Georgetown University, she fell in love with Washington, D.C. She also has a Master of Arts in Communication. A little side note—she cannot imagine a world without her Mac and iDevices. Like many crazy ones, she hopes to change the world one day at a time.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

