Mycroft Holmes: the man I could only wish to become

Every true TV fan on Earth is suffering serious withdrawals. The wonderful Sherlock bid goodbye to us after gracing our TV/computer screens for merely THREE weeks. Instead of going to AA meetings, many of my friends who are also hooked on the BBC series have turned to Facebook to get our fix as we embark on another two longer years of waiting.

I’ve noticed that other than the obvious choices of Sherlock and Watson, I particularly enjoy the presence of Mycroft. For those who are not familiar with the show, please don’t assume that I like Mycroft because he is handsome. No offence but I’m not physically attracted to Mark Gatiss (the actor who plays the character and also the creative mind behind the show) AT ALL.

Mycroft-sherlock-28184329-1600-1067

I posted my admirable of Mycroft on Facebook, and my friend immediately dissected my reason for fangirling him. She thinks I like him because Mycroft is like God. Like in the original stories, Mycroft knows (almost) everything; he is (almost) always in control; he is smart and doesn’t get affected by emotions. He has only one soft spot, and that’s his brother Sherlock.

My friend’s observation is spot on. That’s exactly why I like him because Mycroft is the kind of person I wish I could be and the kind of person I know I can never be. Mycroft is very much like Arnold from my book Florid Eyes: A Novel and Tywin Lannister from Game of Thrones. They are all so formidable and intelligent. They always know best and is one step ahead. They have lived a long life and nothing could throw them off. They are level-headed and always have their emotions in check. People respect them and know they aren’t to be massed with. I’d love to be like that!

That being said, in real life I can’t be more different from what what they are. I’m pretty much the opposite of Mycroft, Arnold and Tywin. I can’t have my emotion “in check” like a robot. I have tried, but I can’t. I have a larger than life personality by nature. When I feel, I FEEL. When I’m happy, I celebrate and immerse myself in joy. When I’m sad, instead of telling myself not to be bothered by things that obviously upset me, I’ve learned to let myself grieve and be affected because possessing these emotions is the only way to get them over with quickly. After that, I’ll be good as new again!

Also, I’m like the least formidable person in the world. I could look serious if I don’t smile, but once I start talking, I can’t help but smile and laugh all the time! People usually find it very easy to warm up to me unless they are assholes. I’m more personable than anything. I think many people I come across with do respect me because they like the passion I demonstrate and admire my hard work and accomplishments, but I can never intimidate people. My students aren’t afraid of me unless I really raise my voice (I do do that when the situation calls for it). They just treat me as friends — knowledgable friends.

Although I can’t be cool like Mycroft, I’m content with being what I am. I get to be the cool teacher that students want to hang out with, not the stone-faced professor that no one would bother to joke with. 🙂 That makes me happy

About Nicky

Nicky English is a journalist, an educator, a podcaster, a couch potato, a dreamer, and a child at heart. Learning is her passion, so is the English language, which she believes is the tool to unlock the door of knowledge. Born in Hong Kong, she received intensive writing training at The University of Iowa, where she double-majored in journalism and political science. Apart from the Hawkeye State, she’s lived in Chicago and Philadelphia. When she was a guest student at Georgetown University, she fell in love with Washington, D.C. She also has a Master of Arts in Communication. A little side note—she cannot imagine a world without her Mac and iDevices. Like many crazy ones, she hopes to change the world one day at a time.
This entry was posted in Florid Eyes: A Novel, friends, identity crisis, school, teaching, TV & movies, work and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

