The least feminine girly girl

It’s widely known that I love pink. Actually, I don’t only love pink. I LOVE pink. I also love bows, ribbons, tiaras, rhinestones and handsome vampires. In the summer I wear skirts/dresses to work everyday, complete with heels. I have had long hair for six years, and I intend to keep it this way. I love playing with my hair and makeup. I want to have round eyes and big lashes.

All in all, my style is very feminine, varying along the line of Jess on New Girl (if I wanna look casual and cute) to Katherine Pierce on The Vampire Diaries (if I wanna look cool and sexy).

With that said, my personality is far from feminine and delicate. I’m bubbly and bold and larger than life. I have many unfeminine traits that sometimes make me feel like an outsider in female cliques:

  1. I hate shopping with others. I don’t understand why other women like to shop in groups. Why must one seek validation from others in shopping? Why do I need shopping buddies when I have the internet as backup and most importantly, good taste? If I like it, I buy it. I won’t listen to my friend and not buy something if I think I look awesome in it.
  2. I never ever go to the toilet accompanied by others on purpose. That’s the dumbest and grossest thing ever. What if I wanna poop? What’s the deal with chatting while we are all peeing? That’s so unnatural. It also makes me feel self conscious if I wanna touch up my makeup or my hair. I don’t want my friend to wait for me when I’m perfecting my lipgloss or relining my eyes. I guess when we were little we were all afraid of the “monster” in the bathroom, but I don’t understand why grownup women still feel the need to go the bathroom in groups.
  3. I enjoy dining out by myself. It’s so much easier to get seats when you go solo in the city during lunch time! I also get to have some me time and not have to talk to anyone for an hour. Although I’m generally a chatterbox, sometimes I just wanna be left alone to recharge and reorganize my thoughts. Eating alone also cuts meal time tremendously and makes the entire process more time efficient.
  4. I am very, very messy or can even be classified as gross. I have very low standards of personal hygiene, which really surprise people because I’m seem so well put together. My hair and makeup are usually done right (unless I overslept). They match my outfit and shoes. However, my room is literally a dumpster. I need to change my outfits at least three times before I can leave the apartment everyday. Do you really expect me to hang them up after every trial? I just throw them on my bed, and when I go to bed, I move them to the chair, like a vicious cycle until it reaches the point when they still falling on the ground. Even so, sometimes I fail to pick up stuff that I’ve dropped until I need it, and I can live with not changing my sheet or vacuuming my room for months.
  5. I don’t brush my teeth or wash my face unless I’m going out, but I do shower once a day.
  6. I don’t like body lotion. I know many women love body lotion cuz it smells so delicious, but I’m just too lazy for it. I only put lotion on when my skin gets too dry that I start inching.
  7. I’m not into nail art. It also surprises people because girly girls tend to be very into nail art. Yea, I think they look cute, but I’m not a trophy wife who doesn’t do anything all day. I work and my work involves a lot of typing, so long nails are a big no-no. Plus, I hate it when my thumb nail gets so long that it pokes me when I write. I also can’t be bothered to repaint my nail every week.
  8. I don’t buy things I don’t need just because it’s on sale. Enough said.
  9. I don’t like talking behind someone’s back unless that person has wronged me. Instead, I like glorifying people who are nice to me.
  10. I don’t like reading instructions. I feel like I’m smarter than most people. Manuals are decided for them, not for me.

But there is some thing very very feminine about me.

  1. I’m as stupid as the next girl when it comes to love. PhD or not, we all love handsome vampires. 🙂
About Nicky

Nicky English is a journalist, an educator, a podcaster, a couch potato, a dreamer, and a child at heart. Learning is her passion, so is the English language, which she believes is the tool to unlock the door of knowledge. Born in Hong Kong, she received intensive writing training at The University of Iowa, where she double-majored in journalism and political science. Apart from the Hawkeye State, she’s lived in Chicago and Philadelphia. When she was a guest student at Georgetown University, she fell in love with Washington, D.C. She also has a Master of Arts in Communication. A little side note—she cannot imagine a world without her Mac and iDevices. Like many crazy ones, she hopes to change the world one day at a time.
This entry was posted in identity crisis, random things and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

