He was right. I was right.

I have posted this speech before, but what happened today reminded me of this amazing video, and I just feel so strongly that I ought to share it again.

I remember at the darkest time, I sought advice from my wonderful, patient good friends. They told me what they believed was the reasonable thing to do, but it didn’t sit well with me. I knew they knew me and cared deeply about me, but they didn’t know-know me. They couldn’t think the way I do. Confused and lost, I asked myself, “What would Steve do?” All I could think of was him telling me to “follow my heart.”

I took a deep breath and took the advice. For a long time, I doubted my choice, until one day the dots began to connect, and today it just became so apparent that Steve gave me the right advice, and I was right to listen to him against all the well-meaning words that may be right for others but just didn’t resonate with me.

Since then I’ve made many decisions based on the same principle every time I’m in a dilemma. Some of the outcomes of these decisions are still pending. Truth be told, sometimes I lose a little bit of faith, fearing to “follow my heart” may not apply in every situation, but I always come back to this and trust that the dots will one day connect. When it happens, everything will make sense, even the pain will make sense.

One day, I will feel this good again about all the tough decisions I’ve made even though all I could feel was pain.

About Nicky

Nicky English is a journalist, an educator, a podcaster, a couch potato, a dreamer, and a child at heart. Learning is her passion, so is the English language, which she believes is the tool to unlock the door of knowledge. Born in Hong Kong, she received intensive writing training at The University of Iowa, where she double-majored in journalism and political science. Apart from the Hawkeye State, she’s lived in Chicago and Philadelphia. When she was a guest student at Georgetown University, she fell in love with Washington, D.C. She also has a Master of Arts in Communication. A little side note—she cannot imagine a world without her Mac and iDevices. Like many crazy ones, she hopes to change the world one day at a time.
This entry was posted in Apple & gadgets, dream, motivation and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

