Luck

luck

A few weeks ago I was very worried about my medical exam. I was afraid I wouldn’t pass because of my heart condition. If I didn’t pass, my visa application would drag on forever. I was so worried that I even lost a night of sleep.

My mom, however, was chilled as a cucumber. I asked her how come she could stay so calm? She said, “I don’t ever worry about you. You always have luck on your side.”

She was right. Despite some glitches, everything’s now alright.

My supervisor at work  has a 4-year-old. She is like my surrogate mother, always telling me to layer up in the winter and not to drink so much coke zero. She doesn’t understand how my mom could throw a Barbecue instead of taking care of me when I was sick even though I’m old enough to be a mom myself. She finds it bizarre when I told her that when I was a kid, my parents would go on trips without me.

The last time my mom got really worried about me was 1.5 years ago when I got sort-of fired. It was probably also the last time I cried in front of her. It was the biggest crisis I had encountered in my adult life, but still, she told me one day I would look back and realize it was not a big deal.

“Many people have seen worse. You were just lucky to never have met anyone mean until now. You’ll grow out of this,” she said.

I never understood why my mom always thought I was “lucky.” I used to hate this because it undermined my hard work. If I had been really lucky, I would have been born with a silver spoon in my mouth. Everything would have been so much easier.

Recently, I have begun to think my mom is semi-right. Although it’s true that I almost never get what I want without something getting in the way or having to struggle, things do eventually be okay. I tend to either get help from someone or figure a way to get around the problem. I do not always get what I want, but I often get diverted to something better.

When a problem arises, I always enter a panic mode, not doing what to do, and I start obsessive Googling for an solution for a prolonged period of time, ranging from a day to a week. Usually someone will come to my rescue in a few days upon receiving my S.O.S. Then I’d realize it really isn’t that big of a deal. There is always a way to fix it. I’ll make do with what I have. Worst case scenario, I make a tough decision to restore my peace of mind. Eventually, everything will be okay like my mom said.

I don’t know if “luck” is really on my side, but I have been genuinely happy for a quite some time now. Every time when something nice happens, I count my blessings. Even though it is probably my hard work/talent/perseverance that make things happen, believing I’m lucky makes me happy every day.

About Nicky

Nicky English is a journalist, an educator, a podcaster, a couch potato, a dreamer, and a child at heart. Learning is her passion, so is the English language, which she believes is the tool to unlock the door of knowledge. Born in Hong Kong, she received intensive writing training at The University of Iowa, where she double-majored in journalism and political science. Apart from the Hawkeye State, she’s lived in Chicago and Philadelphia. When she was a guest student at Georgetown University, she fell in love with Washington, D.C. She also has a Master of Arts in Communication. A little side note—she cannot imagine a world without her Mac and iDevices. Like many crazy ones, she hopes to change the world one day at a time.
This entry was posted in family, health & exercise, motivation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

